Filter out the shit

One day I thought I had an original idea, I hadn’t of course. Upon emptying out a pocket full of loose cigarette filter tips from my pocket one day, I considered them as looking a lot like pixels. I thought that gathering enough of them together I could make some images out of them. I had seen Bradley Harts work (bellow) a few weeks before and this must have been my attempt at something as smart. Attempt.

bradley-hart-bubblewrap bubblewrap-art-bradley-hart

I obviously googled to check if anyone had made images with cigarette filters before, and obviously… they had. Jinks Kunst made a giant image of the french singer Serge Gainsbourg out of 20,394 used cigarette filters. Far from being deterred by this I was able to make some distinctions between Kunst’s piece and the work I wanted to make. The work I would be making would be with fresh filter tips and would be dyed in inks. These differences were enough to encourage me to carry on. I also saw some of Moses Nornberg’s work. Notably his show, Sound of Bullets. It features a similar method of using objects as pixels. His work communicates a political notion quickly and convincingly.

Serge-Gainsbourg-portrait-made-from-cigarettes_2

moses nornberg moses nornberg2

Originally I tried many different methods of producing an image with the filters. I thought I would start simple and make black and white images of people. But the images where poorly made and the method of using pins and pva glue was not terribly efficient.

2013-05-23 18.40.58

2013-05-23 18.41.05 2013-05-23 18.41.11

Then I took some time (I made the picture above back home in bournemouth by the way), I got back to London and spent more time doing tests and trying to refine the image. The process eventually got quicker and looked better. Its still a work in progress and so far nothing I’ve produced is up to scratch. But its fun.

2013-03-29 21.55.35 2013-03-31 22.33.19

